EFFERVESCENCE Pan-Canadian Start-up Pitch Competition 

The EFFERVESCENCE Pan-Canadian Start-Up Pitch Competition is designed to propel the rise of Canadian startups whose innovations are aimed at transforming the life sciences and health technologies (LSHT) community. The 10 startups selected as finalists for the 2022 edition were given the opportunity to present their pitch to EFFERVESCENCE participants during a virtual session open to the public.

We would like to thank the sponsors of the cash prizes, which include Pfizer, adMare BioInnovations, Fonds de solidarité FTQ, National Bank, Centech, Desjardins and MEDTEQ+, as well as the sponsors of the in-kind prizes, such as District 3, Investissement Québec, CQIB, CQDM, Medtech Canada, BioQuébec and Fasken!

Discover the finalists of the 2022 edition!


Axolotl Biosciences

Presented by Dr. Stephanie Willerth – CEO & Co-founder

Dr. Stephanie Willerth is the C.E.O. and co-founder of Axolotl Biosciences – an award-winning start-up that was spun out of her internationally recognized research group at the University of Victoria. She is a Full Professor and Canada Research Chair in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Victoria and she was recently elected to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars.


HDAX Therapeutics

Presented by Dr. Nabanita Nawar – CEO & Co-founder

Dr. Nabanita Nawar is the CEO and co-founder of HDAX Therapeutics. Nabanita is a highly skilled medicinal chemist with proficiency in drug discovery, project design, and strategic thinking. Nabanita’s diverse skillset of 8+ years in drug discovery, leadership, governance, and scientific policy drives the growth of HDAX through her visionary outlook. With 8 high-impact publications, 2 patents, and more than 20 awards, she is a UofT Top Scholar for being the Top 60 most outstanding students of UofT (tri-campus) (2 years in a row) and achieved The Society of Chemical Industry Merit Award, and Canadian Silver Medal from the Chemical Institute of Canada.


Targa Biomedical

Presented by Dr. Shant Der Sarkissian – CEO & Co-founder

Dr. Der Sarkissian is a scientific and business co-founder of Targa Biomedical, a biotechnology company focused on developing treatments to increase the therapeutic impact of regenerative medicine and opportunities for organ transplantation. As President and CEO, he is responsible for the business and strategic implementations of Targa Biomedical.


MISO Chip

Presented by Étienne Laurent – VP Product & Co-founder

Étienne is a biomedical engineer and did his master’s degree in Technology & Innovation Management. During his studies and within the lab of his now partner Pr. Thomas Gervais, he was initiated to the fabrication of microfluidic devices and organ-on-chips technology for cancer research applications. Since then, Etienne has been on a mission to reunite the best team of scientists, engineers, and business partners to commercialize the MISO Chip tumor explant platform and its applications in drug development and cancer diagnostics. Etienne has now more than 4 years of experience in business development and strategy in the field of cancer drug development and the Medtech industry.


Xpan Inc.

Presented by Amanda Manget – R&D Engineering & Business Development Lead

Amanda is a medical device engineer & inventor with Medtech innovation training from Sunnybrook Hospital’s Medventions program. She has been with Xpan since the early stages of product development and is now towards FDA clearance.


NeuroServo

Presented by Jérôme Arnaud-Kubota – COO & Co-Founder

Prior to co-founding NeuroServo, Jérôme served as General Manager for a 120+ employees Post/VFX studio (Montréal/Hollywood) where he operated a major M&A and VP Operations for OVH in charge of setting up a 150+ employees North American presence. Jerome has co-founded Bleu Blanc Tech, the Montréal’s frenchtech and is the author of the book “Gérer son temps, réseauter, convaincre”. With Nicolas Tremblay and Dr. François Marquis, Jérôme is a proud member of the core team of NeuroServo, a startup disrupting ElectoEncephaloGraphy in Intensive Care Units, Emergency Rooms, and the Operating Room.


Paperplane Therapeutics

Presented by Jean-Simon Fortin – CEO & Co-Founder

A graduate of the Department of Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine at the University of Montreal in 2013, Dr. Jean-Simon Fortin has been practicing in the emergency department of the Granby Hospital since 2014. He also practiced for 3 years in the emergency department of CHU Sainte-Justine. Passionate about technology and innovation, he has worked as a consultant for medical technology companies. In 2019, he co-founded Paperplane Therapeutics, a therapeutic virtual reality company, where he now serves as CEO and Medical Director.


FemTherapeutics

Presented by Inara Lalani – COO & Co-Founder

Inara Lalani received a BCom. at McGill University in 2020 with a Major in Information Systems and a Concentration in Entrepreneurship and Surgical Innovation. At 19, she co-founded FemTherapeutics with a mission to personalize precision medicine for women and is a certified Board Governance leader. She has worked in technology consulting, including Ernst & Young and Bell Canada, where she delivered large-scale technology transformation projects in the financial services, telecommunications, and consumer product goods sectors.


Ditch Labs

Presented by Laurent Laferriere – CEO & Co-founder

A serial entrepreneur, Laurent began his entrepreneurial career in 2014 by founding Oatbox, an e-commerce food company that aims to help Canadian families eat a healthier breakfast, every morning. In 2020, he made the leap to the medical technology side of things by founding Ditch Labs. Ditch Labs is developing the first technological solution to help smokers quit that combines pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy. The company wants to help one billion smokers worldwide get rid of their nicotine addiction and thus prevent the first cause of avoidable death, tobacco use. Laurent is also actively involved in the business community, notably as a member of the board of directors of Anges Québec.


Saguaro Technologies

Presented by Félix Lavoie-Pérusse – CCO & Co-founder

Félix Lavoie-Pérusse is co-founder and Chief Commercial Officer of Saguaro Technologies. He previously held strategic planning and business development positions in two high-tech startups where he helped generate 6-fold growth. His role involved connecting with users to inform product strategy and develop customer and partner relationships. Felix is trained in biochemistry and completed his MBA in 2017. With Saguaro, he hopes to help our next generations to live longer and healthier.

Concours pancanadien de pitch de startups à EFFERVESCENCE

Le Concours pancanadien de pitch de startups à EFFERVESCENCE permet de propulser l’ascension de jeunes pousses (« startups ») canadiennes dont les innovations visent à transformer le milieu des sciences de la vie et technologies en santé (SVTS). Les 10 jeunes pousses retenues comme finalistes pour l’édition 2022 ont eu l’opportunité de présenter leur pitch devant les participants d’EFFERVESCENCE, lors d’une session virtuelle ouverte au public. 

Nous tenons à remercier les commanditaires des prix en argent, notamment Pfizer, adMare BioInnovations, Fonds de solidarité FTQ, Banque Nationale, Centech, Desjardins et MEDTEQ+, ainsi que les commanditaires des prix en nature, tels que District 3, Investissement Québec, CQIB, CQDM, Medtech Canada, BioQuébec et Fasken !

Découvrez les finalistes de l’édition 2022 !


Axolotl Biosciences

Présenté par Dr. Stephanie Willerth – PDG & Co-fondatrice

Stephanie Willerth est PDG et cofondatrice d’Axolotl Biosciences, une entreprise primée issue de son groupe de recherche de renommée internationale à l’Université de Victoria. Elle est professeur titulaire et titulaire d’une chaire de recherche du Canada en génie biomédical à l’université de Victoria et a été récemment élue au Collège des nouveaux chercheurs de la Société royale du Canada.


HDAX Therapeutics

Présenté par Dr. Nabanita Nawar – PDG & Co-fondatrice

La Dr Nabanita Nawar est PDG et cofondatrice de HDAX Therapeutics. Nabanita est une chimiste médicinale hautement qualifiée, compétente dans la découverte de médicaments, la conception de projets et la réflexion stratégique. Les compétences diverses de Nabanita, qui compte plus de huit ans d’expérience dans la découverte de médicaments, la direction, la gouvernance et la politique scientifique, stimulent la croissance de HDAX grâce à sa vision. Avec 8 publications à fort impact, 2 brevets et plus de 20 prix, elle est une des 60 meilleurs étudiants de l’UofT (trois campus) (2 années consécutives) et a obtenu le prix du mérite de la Society of Chemical Industry et la médaille d’argent canadienne de l’Institut chimique du Canada.


Targa Biomedical

Présenté par Dr. Shant Der Sarkissian – PDG & Co-fondateur

Le Dr Der Sarkissian est le cofondateur scientifique et commercial de Targa Biomedical, une société de biotechnologie axée sur le développement de traitements visant à accroître l’impact thérapeutique de la médecine régénérative et les possibilités de transplantation d’organes. En tant que président-directeur général, il est responsable de la mise en œuvre commerciale et stratégique de Targa Biomedical.


MISO Chip

Présenté par Étienne Laurent – VP Produit & Co-fondateur

Étienne est ingénieur biomédical et a obtenu un master en gestion de la technologie et de l’innovation. Au cours de ses études et au sein du laboratoire de son partenaire actuel, le Pr. Thomas Gervais, il a été initié à la fabrication de dispositifs microfluidiques et à la technologie des organes sur puces pour des applications de recherche sur le cancer. Depuis lors, Etienne s’est donné pour mission de réunir la meilleure équipe de scientifiques, d’ingénieurs et de partenaires commerciaux afin de commercialiser la plateforme d’explantation de tumeurs MISO Chip et ses applications dans le développement de médicaments et le diagnostic du cancer. Etienne a maintenant plus de 4 ans d’expérience dans le développement commercial et la stratégie dans le domaine du développement de médicaments contre le cancer et l’industrie Medtech.


Xpan Inc.

Presenté par Amanda Manget– Responsable de l’ingénierie R&D et du développement commercial

Amanda est une ingénieure et une inventrice de dispositifs médicaux ayant suivi une formation en innovation medtech dans le cadre du programme Medventions de l’hôpital Sunnybrook. Elle travaille avec Xpan depuis les premiers stades du développement du produit et se dirige maintenant vers l’autorisation de la FDA.


NeuroServo

Presenté par Jérôme Arnaud-Kubota – Directeur commercial et co-fondateur

Avant de co-fonder NeuroServo, Jérôme a été directeur général d’un studio Post/VFX de plus de 120 employés (Montréal/Hollywood) où il a opéré une importante fusion-acquisition et VP Opérations pour OVH en charge de la mise en place d’une présence nord-américaine de plus de 150 employés. Jérôme a co-fondé Bleu Blanc Tech, la frenchtech de Montréal et est l’auteur du livre « Gérer son temps, réseauter, convaincre ». Avec Nicolas Tremblay et le Dr François Marquis, Jérôme est un fier membre de l’équipe principale de NeuroServo, une startup qui perturbe l’électroencéphalogramme dans les unités de soins intensifs, les salles d’urgence et les salles d’opération.


Paperplane Therapeutics

Présenté par Jean-Simon Fortin – PDG et co-fondateur

Diplômé du département de médecine familiale et de médecine d’urgence de l’Université de Montréal en 2013, le Dr Jean-Simon Fortin pratique à l’urgence de l’Hôpital de Granby depuis 2014. Il a également pratiqué pendant 3 ans à l’urgence du CHU Sainte-Justine. Passionné par la technologie et l’innovation, il a travaillé comme consultant pour des entreprises de technologie médicale. En 2019, il a cofondé Paperplane Therapeutics, une entreprise de réalité virtuelle thérapeutique, où il occupe maintenant le poste de PDG et de directeur médical.


FemTherapeutics

Présenté par Inara Lalani – Directrice des opérations et co-fondatrice

Inara Lalani a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences à l’Université McGill en 2020 avec une majeure en systèmes d’information et une concentration en entrepreneuriat et innovation chirurgicale. À 19 ans, elle a cofondé FemTherapeutics avec pour mission de personnaliser la médecine de précision pour les femmes et est un leader certifié en gouvernance de conseil d’administration. Elle a travaillé dans le conseil en technologie, notamment chez Ernst & Young et Bell Canada, où elle a mené à bien des projets de transformation technologique à grande échelle dans les secteurs des services financiers, des télécommunications et des biens de consommation.


Ditch Labs

Présenté par Laurent Laferrière – PDG et co-fondateur

Entrepreneur en série, Laurent a commencé sa carrière entrepreneuriale en 2014 en fondant Oatbox, une entreprise de commerce électronique alimentaire qui vise à aider les familles canadiennes à prendre un petit-déjeuner plus sain, chaque matin. En 2020, il a fait le saut du côté des technologies médicales en fondant Ditch Labs. Ditch développe la première solution technologique pour aider les fumeurs à arrêter de fumer qui combine pharmacothérapie et psychothérapie. L’entreprise veut aider un milliard de fumeurs dans le monde à se débarrasser de leur dépendance à la nicotine et ainsi prévenir la première cause de mortalité évitable, le tabagisme. Laurent est aussi activement impliqué dans la communauté des affaires, notamment en tant que membre du conseil d’administration d’Anges Québec.


Saguaro Technologies

Présenté par Félix Lavoie-Pérusse – Directeur commercial et cofondateur

Entrepreneur en série, Laurent a commencé sa carrière Félix Lavoie-Pérusse est co-fondateur et directeur commercial de Saguaro Technologies. Il a auparavant occupé des postes de planification stratégique et de développement des affaires dans deux startups de haute technologie, où il a contribué à générer une croissance significative. Son rôle consistait autant à connecter avec les utilisateurs pour éclairer la stratégie produit, qu’à développer les relations avec les clients et partenaires. Félix est formé en biochimie et a complété son MBA. Avec Saguaro, il désire contribuer à aider nos futures générations à vivre plus longtemps et en meilleure santé.