Back to speakers 2021

Clotilde Degroot

Coordinator, Quebec Parkinson Network

Clotilde Degroot holds a master’s degree in psychology and psychophysiology of cognition from the Université Aix-Marseille (2006). After moving to Canada, she worked as a research assistant for Dr. Oury Monchi’s laboratory (Parkinson’s Disease, Cognition, Action, Neuroimaging) while completing a master’s in biomedical sciences at Université de Montreal (2013).

In 2013, with Dr. Oury Monchi, Clotilde helped to create the Quebec Parkinson Network (QPN) / thematic network funded by the FRQS and helped to develop and manage infrastructure for a patient registry and databases (ethical, developmental and technical aspects) and to develop the QPN’s operational policies and procedures. She was also responsible for setting up and managing QPN patient recruitment. Since one of the QPN’s primary objectives is to support the recruitment of participants for a variety of research projects on Parkinson’s disease, patient recruitment is of central importance.

After Dr. Edward Fon replaced Dr. Oury Monchi as head of the QPN, Clotilde accepted an opportunity to come to McGill University and work with The Neuro’s C‑BIG‑R team to develop this groundbreaking open science repository. She further helped to set up the Neuro C‑BIG‑R infrastructure by leveraging QPN resources.

The QPN’s success has made it a model for the creation of the Canadian Open Parkinson Network (C‑OPN), a national network with Clotilde as the manager for Eastern Canada. The C‑OPN is an umbrella infrastructure that includes the QPN and Neuro C‑BIG‑R, allowing for the development of a nationwide model for research on Parkinson’s disease.

THE FUTURE OF LIFE SCIENCES

Retour aux conférenciers 2021

Clotilde Degroot

Coordonnatrice, Quebec Parkinson Network

Titulaire d’une maitrise en psychologie et psychophysiologie de la cognition de l’Université Aix-Marseille (2006), Clotilde Degroot à son arrivée au Canada, travaille en tant qu’assistante de recherche pour le laboratoire (Parkinson’s Disease, Cognition, Action, Neuroimaging) du Dr Oury Monchi tout en complétant en parallèle une maitrise en sciences biomédicales de l’Université de Montreal (2013).

En 2013 elle participe avec le Dr Oury Monchi à la création du Réseau Parkinson Québec (RPQ) / réseau thématique financé par le FRQS en aidant au développement et à la gestion des infrastructures: registre de patients et bases de données (aspects éthiques, développementaux et techniques) ainsi que l’élaboration des procédures et politiques opérationnelles du RPQ. Clotilde a également été responsable de la mise en œuvre et de la gestion du recrutement de patients pour le RPQ qui constitue le cœur même de ce réseau dont l’objectif est de soutenir le recrutement de participants pour de multiples projets de recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson.

La reprise de la direction du RPQ par le Dr Edward Fon a mené Clotilde Degroot à l’université McGill et lui a permis de travailler avec l’équipe du Neuro C-BIG-R afin de développer cet incroyable outil de concrétisation de la recherche ouverte. Elle a ainsi pu participer à la mise en place des infrastructures du Neuro C-BIG-R en y combinant les ressources du RPQ.

Le succès du RPQ a servi de modèle à la création d’un réseau national : the Canadian Open Parkinson Network (C-OPN) dont Clotilde est la la gestionnaire associée pour l’Est du Canada. Ce réseau national intègre à la fois les infrastructures du RPQ et du Neuro C-BIG-R et permet ainsi un développement du modèle à l’échelle Pancanadienne pour la recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson.

LE FUTUR DES SCIENCES DE LA VIE