Tell us about your research in 180 seconds

Are you an emerging life science scientist or an already seasoned one, and would like to promote your research project? Do you already see yourself as a TED Talk speaker presenting your research or start-up idea? Don’t wait any longer and register to participate in the EFFERVESCENCE “Tell us about your research in 180S” contest, inspired by the “3-minute thesis” contest from Acfas.

Discover the 10 finalists of the “Tell your research in 180 seconds” competition

We would like to congratulate all the finalists of the competition!

  • Chloé Apcher, Doctorat en biologie moléculaire – Université de Montréal
  • Eva Senechal, Master Experimental Medicine Medicine and Health Sciences – McGill University
  • Gabriel Blanco, Master Neuroscience Medicine – McGill University
  • Jade Latraverse-Arquilla, Baccalauréat médecine pharmacologie et physiologie – Université de Montréal
  • Jenna Cleyle, Master Molecular Biology Medicine – Université de Montréal
  • Katie Ember, Post-doctorate Engineering Physics Engineering Physics – Polytechnique Montréal et CRCHUM
  • Mélanie Le Berre, Doctorat école de réadaptation – Université de Montréal
  • Namasthée Harris-Gauthier, Master Neuroscience Medicine and Health Sciences – McGill University
  • Rebecca Cusseddu, Doctorat médecine – Université de Montréal
  • Zachary Grimard, Baccalauréat Pharmacology & Therapeutics – McGill University

The “Tell Us About Your Research in 180 Seconds” Contest

You will have to present your research project with a language accessible to all (popularized approach) in less than 180 seconds, using only a single slide to assist you in this challenge.

10 participants will be selected based on the lay abstract of their research project, after submission of their registration form. Selected candidates will have the opportunity to attend a preparation session (1h between April 13th and 22nd) and then to present on May 11th, 2022, their research project on the Pitch stage of EFFERVESCENCE, in front of a large audience composed of entrepreneurs, researchers, and other members of the life sciences sector! Selected candidates will get a free ticket for the whole EFFERVESCENCE event.

Selected candidates will be evaluated by a jury and could win cash prizes, from $200 to $700!

The awards ceremony will be held during the EFFERVESCENCE Gala (May 11th from 5:15 pm to 7 pm).

The contest will be hosted by Thomas Milan, scientific popularizer, creator of “Sciences à la carte” on Twitch, and communication advisor at IRIC!

Eligibility Criteria

  • To be registered or have been registered at a Canadian higher education institution in a college, bachelor’s, master’s, doctorate, or post-doctorate program, with a research project in life sciences and health technologies (LSHT) during the current academic year (from September 2021 to August 2022) or to have completed your degree during the same academic year.

LSHT includes biological sciences, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, health technologies, health information technologies, and artificial intelligence applied to health and natural health products that apply to both human and animal health.

  • To have a sufficiently advanced research project
  • To be fluent in English or French
  • To be present, in person, in Montreal on May 11th, 2022 (transport and accommodation costs are your responsibility)

The selection committee encourages people from groups considered to be minorities by the government, including women, non-binary people, people of color, indigenous people, people belonging to racialized minorities and/or to the LGBTQIA2+ communities and/or with a disability, to apply. Adaptative accommodation can be offered on-demand, depending on the situation.

Selection of awardees

Candidates will be selected for the pitch contest based on a lay abstract (250 words) of their research project. Evaluation criteria will consider the use and quality of the language (accessible to all), your summary structure (introduction, content, and conclusion), as well as writing quality (grammar and spelling).

Click here to fill out your registration form before Friday, April 1st, 2022, at 12 p.m (EST)! Do not forget to have your research project supervisor fill out the authorization form, which you can find here, and upload it in the registration form.

You will receive an answer on Friday 8th of April 2022.

The oral presentation will be assessed on oratory skills, popularization quality, and structure of the pitch.

For more information, do not hesitate to contact Alizée Gouronnec, project manager at Montreal InVivo. at agouronnec@montreal-invivo.com.

This contest is presented by

Raconte ta recherche en 180 secondes

Scientifique en sciences de la vie en devenir ou ayant déjà quelques années sous son chapeau, tu souhaites promouvoir ton projet de recherche ? Tu te vois déjà futur orateur/oratrice d’une vidéo TED pour présenter tes recherches ou même ton idée de start-up ? N’attends plus et inscris toi pour participer au concours EFFERVESCENCE « Raconte ta recherche en 180s », inspiré du concours « Ma thèse en 180s » de l’ACFAS.

Découvrez les 10 finalistes du concours « Raconte ta recherche en 180 secondes »

Nous tenons à féliciter tous les finalistes du concours !

  • Chloé Apcher, Doctorat en biologie moléculaire – Université de Montréal
  • Eva Senechal, Master Experimental Medicine Medicine and Health Sciences – McGill University
  • Gabriel Blanco, Master Neuroscience Medicine – McGill University
  • Jade Latraverse-Arquilla, Baccalauréat médecine pharmacologie et physiologie – Université de Montréal
  • Jenna Cleyle, Master Molecular Biology Medicine – Université de Montréal
  • Katie Ember, Post-doctorate Engineering Physics Engineering Physics – Polytechnique Montréal et CRCHUM
  • Mélanie Le Berre, Doctorat école de réadaptation – Université de Montréal
  • Namasthée Harris-Gauthier, Master Neuroscience Medicine and Health Sciences – McGill University
  • Rebecca Cusseddu, Doctorat médecine – Université de Montréal
  • Zachary Grimard, Baccalauréat Pharmacology & Therapeutics – McGill University

Le concours « Raconte ta recherche en 180 secondes »

Tu devras présenter ton projet de recherche de façon vulgarisée en 180 secondes, avec seulement une diapositive pour te supporter dans ce défi.

10 participant.e.s seront sélectionné.e.s sur la base d’un résumé vulgarisé de leur projet de recherche après l’envoi de leur formulaire d’inscription .

Les candidat.e.s sélectionné.e.s auront la possibilité d’assister à une séance de préparation (1 h entre le 13 et 22 avril avril) puis de présenter leur projet de recherche sur la scène éclair d’EFFERVESCENCE, le 11 mai 2022, devant un parterre d’entrepreneurs, de chercheurs et autres membres du secteur des sciences de la vie ! Le billet d’entrée pour toute la durée de l’évènement EFFERVESCENCE sera offert aux candidat.e.s sélectionné.e.s.

Les candidat.e.s seront évalué.e.s par un jury et auront peut-être la chance de gagner un prix en argent, d’une valeur de 200 à 700$ ! La remise des prix aura lieu lors du grand gala EFFERVESCENCE (11 mai de 17h15 à 19h).

Le modérateur de la session sera Thomas Milan, vulgarisateur scientifique, créateur de Sciences à la carte sur Twitch et conseiller en communications à l’IRIC !

Critères d’admissibilités 

  • Être inscrit.e.s ou avoir été inscrit.e.s dans un établissement d’enseignement supérieur canadien, dans un programme collégial, de baccalauréat, maitrise, doctorat ou post-doctorat avec un projet de recherche en sciences de la vie pendant l’année universitaire en cours (de septembre 2021 à août 2022) ou avoir complété son diplôme pendant cette même année universitaire;

Les sciences de la vie et technologies de la santé (SVTS) incluent les sciences biologiques, biotechnologiques, pharmaceutiques, technologies de la santé, technologies de l’information en santé, l’intelligence artificielle appliquée à la santé et les produits de santé naturels qui s’appliquent autant à la santé humaine qu’animale.

  • Présenter un état d’avancement suffisant de son projet de recherche
  • S’exprimer avec aisance en français ou en anglais
  • Pouvoir être présent, en personne à Montréal le 11 mai 2022 (frais de déplacement et d’hébergement à tes frais)

Le comité de sélection encourage les personnes issues des groupes considérés comme minoritaires par le gouvernement, incluant les femmes, les personnes non binaires, de couleur, autochtones, appartenant à une minorité racisée et/ou aux communautés LGBTQIA2+ et/ou étant en situation de handicap, à déposer leur candidature. Des mesures adaptives pourront être offertes, sur demande et selon la situation.

Sélection des récipiendaires

La sélection des candidat.e.s pour la présentation orale se fera sur la rédaction d’un résumé vulgarisé (250 mots) de leur projet de recherche. Les critères d’évaluation seront la qualité de la vulgarisation, de la structuration de l’exposé (introduction, contenu, conclusion) ainsi que de la rédaction (grammaire et orthographe). Les critères d’évaluation de la présentation orale seront le talent d’orateur, la qualité de la vulgarisation et de la structuration de l’exposé.

Clique ici pour remplir le formulaire d’inscription avant le vendredi 1er avril 2022, 12h (HNE) et n’oublie pas de faire remplir le formulaire d’autorisation à ton directeur ou ta directrice de recherche, disponible ici, et de l’inclure dans le formulaire d’inscription.

Une réponse te sera donnée le vendredi 8 avril 2022.

Pour plus d’informations, n’hésite pas à contacter Alizée Gouronnec, chargée de projets à Montréal InVivo, à agouronnec@montreal-invivo.com.

Ce concours est présenté par